Lucire: News



February 25, 2013

Silver Linings Playbook triumphs at Film Independent Spirit Awards

Lucire staff/1.25

Dimitrios Kambouris/Getty Images

The 2013 Film Independent Spirit Awards took place in a tent at Santa Monica beach on Saturday, supported by Jameson Irish Whiskey, with Silver Linings Playbook the big winner at the event.
   Silver Linings Playbook beat rival independent films Beasts of the Southern Wild, Bernie, Keep the Lights on, and Moonrise Kingdom, the other nominees this year. It won best picture, best director and best screenplay for David O. Russell. Jennifer Lawrence, who had already won numerous awards for best actress at other awards, took the same prize at the Film Independent Spirit Awards.
   John Hawkes won best actor for The Sessions, beating out Playbook’s Bradley Cooper. Helen Hunt won best supporting actress for The Sessions, while Matthew McConaughey won best supporting actor for Magic Mike.
   Starlet received the Robert Altman Award.
   Guests attending included Zoë Saldana, Lemon Zhang, Stephan A. Shtereff, Matthew McConaughey, Camila Alves, Daniel Radcliffe, Jennifer Lawrence, Bradley Cooper, Paul Rudd, Roman Coppola, Jason Schwartzman, Mads Mikkelsen, Jake Johnson, Jason Isaacs, Amy Poehler, Stana Katic, Kyle MacLachlan, Bryan Cranston, Laura Dern, Chris Tucker, Kerry Washington, Emily Mortimer, Alessandro Nivola, Ron Livingston, Rosemarie DeWitt, Melanie Lynskey, Bruce Willis and Emma Hemming, Jeremy Renner, Jack Black, Tanya Haden, Nina Dobrev, Rashida Jones, Ben Richardson, and Benh Zeitlin. Andy Samberg MCed the event.

Dimitrios Kambouris/Getty Images

Charley Gallay/Getty Images

Dimitrios Kambouris/Getty Images

Charley Gallay/Getty Images

Dimitrios Kambouris/Getty Images

Also in Lucire’s news section


Get more from Lucire

Our latest issue

Lucire 36
Check out our lavish print issue of Lucire in hard copy or for Ipad or Android.
Or download the latest issue of Lucire as a PDF from Scopalto

Lucire on Twitter

Lucire on Instagram