The global fashion magazine July 21, 2024 
Out now: Lucire issue 49, with free shipping for UK and US


Joseph Altuzarra, Rihanna, Lupita Nyong’o, Raf Simons, Tom Ford on stage at the CFDA awards


June 3, 2014/12.12

Joe Schildhorn/

Matteo Prandoni/

Joseph Altuzarra has been named the womenswear designer of the year, and Rihanna the fashion icon of the year, at the Council of Fashion Designers of America’s (CFDA) Fashion Awards, in association with Swarovski, at Alice Tully Hall at the Lincoln Center.
   Vogue editor-in-chief Anna Wintour, who presented Rihanna’s award, praised the musician, calling her a style icon. ‘She proves that incredible style can take a talented young woman from a small island to the world stage and along the way spark a lot of conversation about elegance and empowerment,’ she said.
   Altuzarra received his award from Academy Award-winning actress Lupita Nyong’o. Other awards included the menswear designer of the year, which was won by Maxwell Osborne and Dao-Yi Chow for Public School, and presented by James Marsden. The accessories’ designer of the year award was won by Mary-Kate Olsen and Ashley Olsen for the Row, presented by Keri Russell.
   Tom Ford won the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award, presented by Richard Buckley. The Founder’s Award in honour of Eleanor Lambert, presented by supermodel Naomi Campbell, was won by Bethann Hardison, for promoting racial diversity in the fashion industry. The media award, in honour of Eugenia Sheppard, was given to Paul Cavaco by Allure editor-in-chief Linda Wells. The international award, presented by Marion Cotillard and Dior CEO Sidney Toledano, was won by Raf Simons of Christian Dior.
   Industry stalwart Ruth Finley of the indispensable Fashion Calendar was recognized with the Board of Directors’ Tribute, presented by CFDA president Diane von Fürstenberg.
   As chief sponsor, Swarovksi presented three awards for emerging talent, to Shane Gabier and Christopher Peters for Creatures of the Wind in the womenswear category; to Tim Coppens for menswear; and to Irene Neuwirth for accessory design.
   Michael Kors paid tribute to Annabel Tollman, L’Wren Scott, and Art Ortenberg who had passed in the previous year.
   Scholarships were awarded to Yi Deng, Drexel University (Geoffrey Beene Design Scholar), Carmela Osorio Lugo, Savannah College of Art & Design (Liz Claiborne Design Scholar), and Franky Tran, School of the Art Institute of Chicago (CFDA–Teen Vogue Scholar, in partnership with Target).
   ‘Tonight, we celebrated creativity, experience, and conviction by honoring the diversity and vibrancy of individuals who define the influence of the fashion industry,’ said von Fürstenberg.
   ‘It’s been an honour to partner with the CFDA in celebrating the very best in American fashion for thirteen incredible years, and the creativity of the award winners never fails to amaze. We are especially pleased to support the industry’s next generation through the Swarovski Awards. It’s a privilege to help these dazzling young talents evolve and realize their visions as they take the next steps in their careers,’ said Nadja Swarovski, member of the Swarovski executive board.
   Celebrities present included Anna Chlumsky, Bernadette Peters, Blake Lively, Bridget Moynahan, Brie Larson, Busy Phillips, Chris Kattan, Cicely Tyson, Emmy Rossum, Gia Coppola, Jaime King, Jennifer Hudson, Leilani Bishop, Olivia Wilde, Sophia Bush, Suki Waterhouse, Zoe Kazan, Zoey Deutch, Alessandra Ambrosio, Amy Fine Collins, Andrew Bolton, Andrew Saffir, Anja Rubik, Anne V., Bee Shaffer, Brad Goreski, Caroline Trentini, Chanel Iman, Chrissy Teigen, Coco Rocha, Constance Jablonski, Derek Blasberg, Dree Hemingway, Fei Fei Sun, Hanne Gaby Odiele, Harley Viera Newton, Heidi Klum, Hilary Rhoda, Iman, Jamie Bochert, Jen Brill, Jessica Stam, Jessica Joffe, Joan Smalls, John Demsey, Karen Elson, Karlie Kloss, Karolína Kurková, Leigh Lezark, Liya Kebede, Malgosia Bela, Olivia Palermo, Tyson Beckford, Vanessa Traina, Victor Cruz, and Victoria Traina.
   The show, hosted by Brad Goreski, will be webcast on on June 3 at 11 a.m. EDT.
   Lexus, MAC Cosmetics, Veuve Clicquot, Maestro Dobel and Intel were also sponsors of the event.

Matteo Prandoni/

Joe Schildhorn/

Matteo Prandoni/

Red carpet





Tom Ford

Bethann Hardison

Blake Lively

You may also like
celebrity / culture / entertainment / fashion / film / journalism / living / Lucire / modelling / New York / supermodels / TV
Filed by Lucire staff

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *