The global fashion magazine June 16, 2024 
Out now: Lucire issue 48, with free shipping for UK and US


Jonathan Anderson wins Designer of the Year at British Fashion Council’s star-studded 2023 Awards

With tributes to Dame Vivienne Westwood and Joe Casely-Hayford, the celebrity-filled evening saw Taika Waititi and Rita Ora, Pamela Anderson, Gillian Anderson, Jodie Comer, Gwyneth Paltrow, Rosie Huntington-Whiteley, Andrew Garfield, Barbara Palvin and many others on the red carpet
December 5, 2023/2.07

Darren Gerrish; Sophie Stafford; Richard Young; Tatiana Galic; Shaun James Cox; Getty Images
Monday night saw the Fashion Awards 2023 extravaganza at London’s Royal Albert Hall, hosted by the British Fashion Council and presented by Pandora.

The event is the gala of the year for the Council, indeed the UK fashion industry, and serves as the primary fund-raiser for the BFC Foundation Charity.

This year’s event was hosted by Maya Jama and Kojey Radical, with Law Roach and Julia Hobbs hosting the red-carpet live show.

Celebrities on the red carpet included Anne Hathaway (in Valentino), Amal Clooney (in Versace), Taika Waititi and Rita Ora (in Primark), Gwyneth Paltrow (in Valentino), Kate Moss, Rosie Huntington-Whiteley, Barbara Palvin (in Self-Portrait), Alexa Chung (in 16Arlington), Jourdan Dunn (in Thaihuy), Precious Lee (in Comme des Garçons), Gillian Anderson, Tinie Tempah, Liya Kebede, Poppy Delevingne, Adut Akech (in Knwls), Sara Sampaio (in Richard Quinn), Neelam Gill, Taylor Russell (in Loewe), Sabrina Elba (in Harris Reed), Andrew Garfield, Felicity Jones (in Erdem), Jodie Comer (in Victoria Beckham), Lena Dunham, Winnie Harlow (in Richard Quinn), Nicole Scherzinger (in Patrick McDowell), Ashley Roberts, Myleene Klass, Mona Tougaard (in Alaïa), Lily James, Amanda Holden, Suki Waterhouse, Paloma Faith (in Vivienne Westwood), Olivia Culpo (in Miss Sohee), Pixie Lott, Georgia May Jagger (in Burberry), Iris Law (in Vivienne Westwood), Ellie Bamber, Charli Howard, Lewis Hamilton (in Wales Bonner), Paloma Elsesser (in Ferragamo), Anok Yai (in Ferragamo), FKA Twigs (in Valentino), Ellie Goulding, Lisa Rinna (in Chet Lo), Romeo Beckham and Mia Regan, Ella Balinska, Liberty Ross, Tessa Thompson (in Loewe), Dan Levy (in Loewe), Simone Ashley (in Valentino), Letitia Wright (in Prada), Charlie XCX (in Jean Paul Gaultier), Maisie Williams (in Simone Rocha), and India Amarteifio.

The ceremony itself was led by Usher, who welcomed the audience, followed by Mette’s Pandora performance, then a live performance from Sam Smith.

The top award of the night, Designer of the Year, went to Jonathan Anderson for J. W. Anderson and Loewe, presented by Josh O’Connor.

Maximilian Davis for Ferragamo was named British Womenswear Designer (award presented by Chioma Nnadi), with the top British Menswear Designer was Martine Rose for her namesake brand (presented by Little Simz).

Connor Ives was the BFC Foundation Designer Award winner, recognizing his impact on global fashion, with Dan Levy presenting.

The two New Establishment awards went to Emma Chopova and Laura Lowena for Chopova Lowena for womenswear (presented by Simone Ashley), and Bianca Saunders for menswear (presented by Precious Lee).

A fashion show of 24 red dresses commemorated Valentino Garavani’s outstanding contribution to fashion, with the backdrop showing Eleonora Abbagnato and Daniele Cipriani’s ballet, An Evening at the Opera with Valentino, which was filmed in his home town, Voghera, with music by Micka Luna. Gwyneth Paltrow presented the Outstanding Contribution to Fashion Award to Garavani’s long-time friend Mr Giammetti.

Model of the Year was named as Paloma Elsesser, presented by Damson Idris.

The industry paid tribute to the late Dame Vivienne Westwood for her design and activism, and recognized Joe Casely-Hayford, OBE with a posthumous Special Recognition Award, which was presented by Paapa Essiedu and accepted by Joe’s son and Casely-Hayford co-founder Charlie Casely-Hayford.

The other Special Recognition Awards went to Charlotte Tilbury for her contribution to the industry, presented by Amal Clooney, and Sarah Mower for championing young designer talent, presented by Gwendoline Christie. Sarah Burton won the Special Recognition Award for her outstanding contribution to the industry, with Edward Enninful presenting.

Enninful himself was a winner, taking home the Trailblazer Award, presented by Jodie Comer and Stormzy.

Sam Smith was awarded the Cultural Innovator Award, presented by Lena Dunham.

The Pandora Leader of Change Award, given to a person who leads with innovation to make positive global change, was won by Michael Coel, and presented by Pamela Anderson.

The Isabella Blow Award for Fashion Creator was won by Campbell Addy, and presented by Ib Kamara.

The Awards also celebrated the 2023 New Wave: Creatives cohort, with each winner receiving a trophy created by 2022 cohort designer Julie Liu in collaboration with World of Glass.

Official winners’ portraits were shot by former New Wave: Creative Derrick Ofosu Boateng.

The after-party saw Skepta perform a DJ set.

Other supporters were Don Julio, Getty Images, Moët & Chandon, Royal Salute, Smartwater, and the Peninsula London.

Darren Gerrish; Sophie Stafford; Richard Young; Tatiana Galic; Shaun James Cox; Getty Images

You may also like
celebrity / culture / entertainment / fashion / film / living / London / Lucire / modelling / society
Filed by Lucire staff