The global fashion magazine May 20, 2024 
Out now: Lucire issue 48, with free shipping for UK and US


Margot Robbie, Michelle Yeoh, Kim Kardashian, Katy Perry among celebs at 10th Breakthrough Prize

The A-list were out in force to celebrate one of the most glamorous nights in the sciences
April 16, 2024/3.18

Margot Robbie
Michelle Yeoh
Brie Larson
Venus Williams
Olivia Wilde
Behati Prinsloo
Lester Cohen; Jon Kopaloff
Los Angeles played host to another star-studded Breakthrough Prize ceremony on Saturday, with the 10th edition honouring luminaries in science and awarding over US$15 million in prizes each year.

Each Breakthrough Prize is US$3 million, presented in the fields of life sciences, fundamental physics, and mathematics. New Horizons Prizes of US$100,000 are awarded to early-career researchers, and the Maryam Mirzakhani New Frontiers Prize of US$50,000 recognizes women mathematicians with recently completed Ph.Ds and produced important results.

The event at the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences was MCed by James Corden, with presenters including Jessica Chastain, Glenn Close, Bradley Cooper, Robert Downey, Jr, Kim Kardashian, Alicia Keys, Regina King, Brie Larson, Rob Lowe, Edward Norton, Da’Vine Joy Randolph, Zoe Saldaña, Olivia Wilde, Venus Williams, and Anne Wojcicki. Adam Levine, David Foster and Charlie Puth performed live at the ceremony.

VIPs attending included Margot Robbie, Michelle Yeoh, Vin Diesel, Orlando Bloom, Katy Perry, Kris Jenner, Maria Sharapova, Sia Godika, Jeffrey Katzenberg, Magnus Carlsen, Édgar Ramírez, Joel Madden, David Blaine, Jeff and Justine Koons, Wendi Murdoch, Eileen Gu, Yan Gu, Lizzo, Brian Singerman and Noëlle Moseley, Isabelle Boemeke, Joe Gebbia, Bill Gates, Paula Hurd, Sheryl Berkoff, Damien Chazelle, Olivia Hamilton, Patty Jenkins and Sam Sheridan, Behati Prinsloo, Chamath Palihapitiya and Nathalie Dompé, Brooke Sansone, Marco Perego-Saldaña, Brian Grazer, Veronica Smiley, Susan Downey, Josh Fink, Arielle Small, Nikesh Arora, Ayesha Thapar, Vladimir Tenev, Robert Kyncl, Andy Huang and Sandra Huang, Nancy Zhang, Elaine Wynn, Gillian Wynn, Marc Stad and Elisa Stad, Swizz Beatz, Jessica Taneja and Hemant Taneja, Scott Feinberg, Shauna Robertson, Arthur Phillips, Barbara Muschietti, Alexandra Dickson Gray and James Gray, Steve Hackman, Ty Stiklorius, George Daley, Rachel Klausner and Richard Klausner, Carol Cunningham and Hal Barron, David Dobkin and Megan Wolpert, Johanna Salsano and Sandro Salsano, Sarah Steele and Bill Maris, S. Pete Worden, Rebecka Belldegrun and Arie Belldegrun, Julia Milner, Yuri Milner, Greg Verdin, Rebecca Lyu, Jim Breyer, Alexis Swanson, Traina and Trevor Traina, Tim Ditzler and Lynn Seely, Sunil Mittal, David Baszucki and Jan Ellison, Erica Wertheim Zohar and Lior Zohar, Aviv Regev, Matt Huang and Glara Han, Varun Chandra, Ellen Sidransky, McKayla Leahy, Camille Leahy, John Reed and Muffy Walker, Jill Meenaghan and Bezel Walter, and Dame Emma Walmsley.

The Breakthrough Prizes were awarded to Hidetoshi Katori and Jun Ye (fundamental physics); Thomas Gasser, Ellen Sidransky, Andrew Singleton and Richard Youle (life sciences), Simon Brendle (mathematics), Demis Hassabis and John Jumper (life sciences), Carl H. June and Michel Sadelain (life sciences), John Cardy and Alexander Zamolodchikov (fundamental physics), and Sabine Hadida, Paul Negulescu and Fredick van Goor (life sciences). Sia Godika won the Breakthrough Junior Challenge prize, and Hannah Larson and Laura Monk won the Maryam Mirzakhani New Frontiers Prizes.

The show, produced by Charlie Haykel and Juliane Hare and directed by Don Mischer of Don Mischer Productions, will be webcast on YouTube on April 21, 11 a.m. PDT.

Lester Cohen; Jon Kopaloff

You may also like
celebrity / culture / entertainment / film / living / Los Angeles / Lucire / modelling / society
Filed by Lucire staff