The global fashion magazine May 20, 2024 
Out now: Lucire issue 48, with free shipping for UK and US


The Fashion Awards 2022: Pierpaolo Piccioli named designer of the year

A full list of winners from the year’s most prestigious fashion event in the UK, raising funds for the BFC Foundation
December 5, 2022/23.26

Misam Harriman; courtesy BFC and Getty Images
Monday night’s Fashion Awards from the British Fashion Council, presented by Diet Coke and held at the Royal Albert Hall, were a snapshot of the Zeitgeist, with not just the award ceremony but a number of special celebrations and performances, including a tribute to HM Queen Elizabeth II.

Hosted by actress Jodie Turner-Smith, the event saw 23 awards handed out, the nominees and winners having been voted by 1,000 industry experts.

Pierpaolo Piccioli for Valentino won the designer of the year prize, presented by Florence Pugh. S. S. Daley took home the BFC Foundation award, presented by Golda Rosheuvel. Wales Bonner was named the top independent British brand (presented by Yasmin Finney and Burna Boy), while Jefferson Hack won the Special Recognition Award for Cultural Curation (presented by Tilda Swinton).

There were 15 leaders of change. Singer Sam Smith presented the five awards for creativity to Alessandro Michele, Daniel Roseberry, Harris Reed, Ibrahim Kamara and Raf Simons; Paris Jackson presented the awards for the environment to Bethany Williams, Connor Ives, Gabriela Hearst, Marine Serre and Priya Ahluwalia; and those who championed people were Aurora James, Harry Lambert, Julie Pelipas, Sinéad Burke and Rafael Pavarotti, with Emma Corrin presenting their awards.

Bella Hadid was model of the year, with her award presented by Ashley Graham.

As detailed earlier in Lucire, Patagonia’s Yvon Chouinard won the outstanding achievement award (presented by Elizabeth Debicki).

Katie Grand won the Isabella Blow Award for Fashion Creator, presented by Charlotte Tilbury.

For the first time, the metaverse made it in to the Fashion Awards. A new prize recognizing the ‘metaverse world and gaming experience’ was won by Burberry (presented by Kojey Radical).

The Fashion Salute Show was a tribute to the late HM Queen Elizabeth II and featured designers Alexander McQueen, Burberry, Charles Jeffrey (Loverboy), Christopher Kane, David Koma, Dilara Findikoglu, Dunhill, Edward Crutchley, Erdem, Halpern, Harris Reed, J. W. Anderson, Knwls, Matty Bovan, Molly Goddard, Nensi Dojaka, Nicholas Daley, Ozwald Boateng, Philip Treacy, Preen, Rejina Pyo, Richard Malone, Richard Quinn, Roksanda, Roland Mouret, Simone Rocha, Stella McCartney, Stephen Jones, Vivienne Westwood, Victoria Beckham, Wales Bonner, and Zandra Rhodes. The show was art-directed by Robin Derrick, creative-directed by Sophia Neophitou, and styled by Oliver Volquardsen. Music was by Jeremy Healy and the Queen’s Royal Hussars, Production INCA and Gold Dust. Adam Hindle was the casting director.

Before the proceedings was the red carpet live stream, with a live performance by Olivia Dean, accompanied by the Diet Coke Fashion Awards Glambot. This was hosted by Miquita Oliver, Raven Smith and Julia Hobbs.

There was a Jean Paul Gaultier Fashion Freak Show in the pre-show ceremony, and the awards themselves opened with a year in review film hosted by Charlotte Quinn, Tom Daley and Munya Chawawa.

Newgen, giving emerging designers a chance to show at London Fashion Week, was recognized with a special introduction by A Cold Wall’s Dr Samuel Ross, and a film featuring Princess Julia. The awards celebrated five years of New Wave: Creatives with a film by Matte Projects.

Winners received trophies by Yinka Illori in collaboration with SkyDiamond and the Glass Foundry.

Shygirl and Jessie Ware performed live at the awards and DJ Jodie Harsh and DJ Fat Tony played the after-party.

Official winners’ portraits were taken by Joyce Ng.

The Fashion Awards raise funds for the BFC Foundation, a charity promoting the British fashion industry.

Diet Coke was the principal sponsor, with Getty Images, Malfy Gin, Moët & Chandon, Royal Salute and the Londoner as official partners.

Charlie Wheeler; Misam Harriman; Eeva Rinne; Richard Young; Jason Lloyd Evans; courtesy BFC and Getty Images

You may also like
celebrity / culture / entertainment / fashion / film / living / London / Lucire / modelling / society / Zeitgeist
Filed by Lucire staff